The Worst Part is Missing the Series!

Well, things don’t always turn out as planned.  Today has not been a good day.  I woke up early, got breakfast, and prepared to head to the airport.  As I was preparing I could not find the plastic bag in which I had been keeping all of my souvenirs.  I hadn’t bought any souvenirs, but the cake Maria had gotten for Sarah, I did have 50 Euro worth of chocolate I was bringing back for everyone, and all of my maps, a few postcards, train tickets, and anything else I had picked up along the way.  It was gone.  My best guess is that I left it in the lobby of the Holiday Inn when I was asking directions to my hotel the night before (I back-tracked in my mind and that is the last place I remember having it).  It is probably gone, but I shot them an email.

I was supremely disappointed because I am traveling lightly and on a budget.  I can’t carry stuff back for 12 different people and the Belgium chocolate was unbelievable.  I was really looking forward to giving gifts to people when I got back.

Oh well, no time to mope, so I hopped a train to the airport.  I arrived after a bit of a stressful ride and three switches, over an hour later.  I checked in and they told me, “You picked a bad time to fly stand-by”.  I asked why to which they responded, “French holiday just began yesterday”.

Crap.

So, I have tried three times to get on a plane and three times have failed.  I will be spending the night here in the airport and trying my luck again tomorrow.  I was more down than mad I guess.  I was really looking forward to getting back and seeing family, but there is nothing I can do.  After the initial shock of, “what am I going to do for the next 24 hours???” I began to explore the airport a bit.  I found a PS3 I can play (it has tennis)… I found some leather chairs I can sleep in, one of the ladies from Delta gave me a blanket, and I am going to try my luck tomorrow one flight at a time.  I had to check my pack because it had the huge chunk of the Berlin Wall in it (haha) so, I don’t have my Mac charger or really anything else besides a book.  Diary of a Young Girl: Anne Frank should be read by the time I get on the plane.  If Tom Hanks can survive in Terminal than I can make here for a day and a night.

Keep in mind that that the last flight was around 2 PM and I have already checked everything I have… If I don’t hop a flight tomorrow… I am making a run to the perfume shop and dousing myself 🙂  See you in America (hopefully)!!!

Leave a comment